How to watch the 2020 Democratic National Convention

How to watch the 2020 Democratic National Convention

The Democratic National Convention will take place virtually August 17-20, with keynote speakers from 9-11 p.m. ET each night. Joe Biden will formally accept the nomination for president on Thursday night and Kamala Harris will accept the nomination for vice president on Wednesday.

The list of speakers includes Michelle Obama on Monday, Jill Biden on Tuesday and former President Obama on Wednesday. Biden will accept the nomination virtually from his home state of Delaware, rather than traveling to Milwaukee.

CBSN will provide live coverage and analysis throughout the day all week, with full coverage beginning at 5 p.m. ET on “Red & Blue,” with Elaine Quijano. At 8:30 p.m. ET, tune in for an advance of each night’s convention speakers, and again at 11 p.m. ET for post-convention analysis.

From 10-11 p.m. ET each night, CBSN and CBS television stations will simulcast live coverage anchored by “CBS Evening News” anchor and managing editor Norah O’Donnell.

Coverage will include reporting from CBSN politics reporter Caitlin Huey-Burns, CBS News correspondents and campaign reporters, plus the latest on the state of the race from CBS News elections and surveys director Anthony Salvanto. Reporters from around the country will provide perspectives as part of CBSN’s “Local Matters” series.

Download the free CBS News app for full CBSN coverage and live convention updates. CBSN streaming is available on all major platforms, including iOS, Android, Roku, Amazon, Apple, Samsung and Pluto.

How to watch the Democratic National Convention

    What: Democratic National ConventionDate: Monday, August 17 to Thursday, August 20, 2020Convention coverage on CBSN: 5 p.m. ET, 8:30 p.m. ETConvention speakers live: 9-11 p.m. ETConvention coverage simulcast on CBSN and CBS stations: 10-11 p.m. ETPost-convention coverage on CBSN: 11 p.m. ETOnline stream: Live on CBSN — in the player above and on your mobile or streaming device.

CBS News’ weeklong coverage will include “60 Minutes” correspondent and CBS News political analyst John Dickerson and CBS News contributors María Elena Salinas, Jamal Simmons and Leslie Sanchez, with ongoing perspective on CBSN from a range of political strategists, including Joel Payne, Antjuan Seawright and Lynda Tran.

Special convention night coverage includes: Former Trump White House chief of staff Reince Priebus, former Obama senior adviser Valerie Jarrett, Hillary Clinton’s 2016 campaign manager Robby Mook, Democratic strategist Joel Payne, and former 2016 Marco Rubio campaign manager Terry Sullivan.

Here is who is slated to speak each day of the Democratic National Convention:


In order of appearance

    Congressman Bennie Thompson, convention chairReverend Gabriel Salguero, president of the National Latino Evangelical CoalitionGwen Moore, convention sergeant-at-armsWashington, D.C., Mayor Muriel BowserPerformance by singer Leon BridgesCongressman James ClyburnGovernor Andrew CuomoKristin Urquiza, whose father died from COVID-19Sara Gideon, speaker of the Maine House of RepresentativesPerformance by Maggie RogersMichigan Governor Gretchen WhitmerChristine Whitman, Republican former governor of New JerseyMeg Whitman, former CEO of Hewlett-PackardSusan Molinari, Republican former congresswomanJohn Kasich, Republican former governor of OhioSenator Doug JonesSenator Catherine Cortez MastoSenator Amy KlobucharFormer 2020 presidential candidatesCongressman Cedric RichmondSenator Bernie SandersFormer first lady Michelle ObamaPerformance by Billy Porter and Stephen StillsReverend Dr. Jerry Young


    Former Acting Attorney General Sally YatesSenate Minority Leader Chuck SchumerFormer Secretary of State John KerryCongresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-CortezCongresswoman Lisa Blunt RochesterFormer President Bill ClintonFormer second lady Jill Biden


    House Speaker Nancy PelosiFormer Secretary of State Hillary ClintonSenator Elizabeth WarrenGovernor Tony EversGovernor Michelle Lujan GrishamFormer Congresswoman Gabrielle GiffordsSenator Kamala HarrisFormer President Barack Obama


    Senator Cory BookerGovernor Gavin NewsomMayor Keisha Lance BottomsFormer Mayor Pete ButtigiegSenator Tammy BaldwinSenator Tammy DuckworthSenator Chris CoonsThe Biden familyFormer Vice President Joe Biden